Paper for Kids Published Twice a Month

2010 Nobel Prize
Physics : Andre Geim (Russia) and Konstantin Novoselov (Russia) jointly for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material grapheme.
Chemistry : Richard F. Heck (USA), Ei-ichi Negishi (USA), Akira Suzuki (USA) jointly for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis.
Medicine : Robert G. Edwards (UK) for the development of in vitro fertilization. Economic Science : Peter A. Diamond (USA), Dale T. Mortensen (USA), Christopher A. Pissarides (Cyprus) for their analysis of markets with search frictions
Literature : Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru) for his novels, plays, essays and his commitment to social change.
Peace : Liu Xiaobo (China) for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China.

What are Nobel Prizes?
Nobel Prize is the world's most prestigious award in its field. The will of the Swedish chemist Alfred Nobel, the inventor of dynamite, established the prizes in 1895. Nobel's last will requested that his fortune be used to create a series of prizes for those who confer the "greatest benefit on mankind" in physics, chemistry, peace, physiology or medicine, and literature. Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded in these areas. In 1969 an award for Economic Sciences was instituted. Although technically not a Nobel Prize, its announcements and presentations are made along with the other prizes. Each recipient, or laureate, is presented with a gold medal, a diploma, and a sum of money which depends on the Nobel Foundation's income that year.

Foreign Citizens of Indian Origin
Hargobind Khorana,1968 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, Nobel Prize in Physics in 1983
Venkatraman 'Venki' Ramakrishnan, 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
V.S. Naipaul, Nobel Prize in Literature in 2001
Citizens of India and Indian Origin
Rabindranath Tagore, 1913, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature
Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman, Nobel Prize in Physics for the year 1930
Amartya Sen, 1998 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics

840 Nobel Laureates
Between 1901 and 2010, the Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences were awarded 543 times. In all 817 Laureates and 23 organizations have been awarded the Nobel Prize between 1901 and 2010. Of them, 67 are Laureates in Economic Sciences.